A better way to search forums?

Forum rules
We don't support installations in VirtualBox, VMWare, qemu or others. We ignore posts about WINE, PlayOnLinux, Steam and Skype. We don't support btrfs, lvm, UEFI, side-by-side installations with GPT or dualboot with anything newer than Windows XP.
Google your problem first. Check the Wiki. Read the existing threads. It's okay to "hijack" an existing thread, yes! If your problem is not yet covered, open a new thread. To get the quickest possible help, mention the exact release codename in your post (uname -a is a good idea, too). Due to the lack of crystal balls, attach the output of lspci -nnk if you encounter hardware problems.
catfood
Bad Advice Dog

A better way to search forums?

Unread post by catfood » Sat Oct 08, 2016 3:07 am

I'm still relatively new to Linux, so I'm gonna have a lot of questions.
I'd prefer to find previous answers rather than starting new duplicate threads.

Unfortunately, alot of things I've been searching for, over half the words I search get ignored. Not simple words, but like names of "[distros] release notes". Like kielbasa was an ignored term, when i wanted to find whatever might have replaced it.

Same issues with advanced search and picking the appropriate sections, etc. Trying to narrow it down didn't help. Search for quoted "search terms" doesn't seem to work; also, some topics, I don't know the exact release/thread name to do so anyways.

Just wondering if there's a better way to word my searches or something here so 2/3rds my terms aren't ignored?
I don't wanna waste people's time for things I should be able to find myself.
Thank You!
(I remember when debian "non-gui" installer scared me. #never-forget)

wuxmedia
Grasshopper

Re: A better way to search forums?

Unread post by wuxmedia » Sat Oct 08, 2016 9:48 am

yeah the search is a bit weird on this forum, I have trouble finding old stuff, Bacon seems pretty good, but I think he just remembers the topic url by heart.