[SOLVED] BCM4312 not functioning

Forum rules
We don't support installations in VirtualBox, VMWare, qemu or others. We ignore posts about WINE, PlayOnLinux, Steam and Skype. We don't support btrfs, lvm, UEFI, side-by-side installations with GPT or dualboot with anything newer than Windows XP.
Google your problem first. Check the Wiki. Read the existing threads. It's okay to "hijack" an existing thread, yes! If your problem is not yet covered, open a new thread. To get the quickest possible help, mention the exact release codename in your post (uname -a is a good idea, too). Due to the lack of crystal balls, attach the output of lspci -nnk if you encounter hardware problems.
Wervenyt
Saltimbocca-Roller
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 4:03 am

[SOLVED] BCM4312 not functioning

Unread post by Wervenyt » Tue Dec 11, 2012 4:13 am

First of all, I'd like to say thanks to LinuxBBQ's devs, for making a distro that I've wanted for quite a while.
Now onto business:
I have a Dell Inspiron 1545, which unfortunately came with the BCM4312 wifi card. In the past, I've been able to get it working with these instructions. However, in LinuxBBQ, I've been unable to get it working. Anyone know what going on, and how I could fix it?
Last edited by Wervenyt on Wed Dec 12, 2012 5:22 am, edited 3 times in total.

machinebacon
Baconator
Posts: 10253
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 11:03 am
Location: Pfälzerwald
Contact:

Re: BCM4312 not functioning

Unread post by machinebacon » Tue Dec 11, 2012 4:22 am

Hello and welcome to the grill!

Please post the relevant line (for your wifi adapter) of

Code: Select all

lspci -nnk
I'd like to see the device number and driver in use. Also, please post

Code: Select all

uname -r
Thanks!
..gnutella..

Wervenyt
Saltimbocca-Roller
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 4:03 am

Re: BCM4312 not functioning

Unread post by Wervenyt » Tue Dec 11, 2012 4:36 am

lspci output:

Code: Select all

0c:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Corporation BCM4312 802.11b/g LP-PHY [14e4:4315] (rev 01)
	Subsystem: Dell Wireless 1397 WLAN Mini-Card [1028:000c]
uname output:

Code: Select all

3.6-10.towo-siduction-amd64

machinebacon
Baconator
Posts: 10253
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 11:03 am
Location: Pfälzerwald
Contact:

Re: BCM4312 not functioning

Unread post by machinebacon » Tue Dec 11, 2012 5:02 am

As root (su -)

Code: Select all

rmmod b43 && modprobe b43 
Make also sure the killswitch is turned off/on

Code: Select all

rfkill list
rfkill unblock wifi
rfkill unblock wlan
Edit:

Another solution I found (honestly, I don't use Broadcom :) )
If your card number is: BCM4312, then type in a Terminal window:
sudo apt-get purge b43-fwcutter firmware-b43-installer firmware-b43-lpphy-installer firmware-b43legacy-installer bcmwl*
sudo apt-get install b43-fwcutter firmware-b43-lpphy-installer bcmwl*
Then reboot
..gnutella..

machinebacon
Baconator
Posts: 10253
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 11:03 am
Location: Pfälzerwald
Contact:

Re: BCM4312 not functioning

Unread post by machinebacon » Tue Dec 11, 2012 5:03 am

By the way, you can use the suggestions from here, too: http://aptosid.com/index.php?name=PNphp ... opic&t=101
Seems this adapter is generally a headache.

Maybe fw-detect helps:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install siduction-scripts  # (if not already installed)
fw-detect
..gnutella..

Wervenyt
Saltimbocca-Roller
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 4:03 am

Re: BCM4312 not functioning

Unread post by Wervenyt » Tue Dec 11, 2012 5:17 am

The first bit of help got it running, thank you a lot! And, a pain it is.
I will now add the [SOLVED] tag.

machinebacon
Baconator
Posts: 10253
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 11:03 am
Location: Pfälzerwald
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] BCM4312 not functioning

Unread post by machinebacon » Tue Dec 11, 2012 5:26 am

Great, you made my day :D Cheers!
..gnutella..

Wervenyt
Saltimbocca-Roller
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 4:03 am

Re: [SOLVED] [NEVERMIND] BCM4312 not functioning

Unread post by Wervenyt » Wed Dec 12, 2012 3:21 am

Apparently, setting this up can't be that easy...
Now, every time I turn the computer back on, I have to load b43 again. It seems to not want to do it automatically, any help for this?

machinebacon
Baconator
Posts: 10253
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 11:03 am
Location: Pfälzerwald
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] [NEVERMIND] BCM4312 not functioning

Unread post by machinebacon » Wed Dec 12, 2012 4:29 am

Sure, that's easy:

Code: Select all

sudo nano /etc/modules
There you simply enter the name of the module to be loaded, so:

Code: Select all

b43
Then save and exit. The modules are now loaded at boot time.

(There's also the option to make it more 'modular', by creating module files, like /etc/modules.d/b43 that contains the same line.)
..gnutella..

Wervenyt
Saltimbocca-Roller
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 4:03 am

Re: [SOLVED] [NEVERMIND] BCM4312 not functioning

Unread post by Wervenyt » Wed Dec 12, 2012 4:38 am

Thanks! I recall doing something similar, but its been quite a while since I last used linux.

machinebacon
Baconator
Posts: 10253
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 11:03 am
Location: Pfälzerwald
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] [NEVERMIND] BCM4312 not functioning

Unread post by machinebacon » Wed Dec 12, 2012 4:40 am

Addendum: If there's a module that should nto be loaded, it comes into /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf

And of course we have to run

Code: Select all

sudo update-initramfs -u
This should do the trick.
..gnutella..

Post Reply