another noob

Forum rules
We believe in Hello and Thank You.
tane
Distrowatcher

another noob

Unread post by tane » Sun Sep 13, 2015 10:17 pm

howdy, i ran across linuxbbq on hn yesterday. i'm a history student in my mid-20s, and over the last year i've gotten increasingly interested in linux as a kind of side-hobby. i switched both my desktop and my laptop to lubuntu, configured openwrt on a crummy router, and i love the sense of control i have over my devices now. i'm still relatively inexperienced and dumb, but i'm not afraid of cli anymore, and i liked the philosophy of linuxbbq. i've been poking around in a live session on my netbook (i found that even lubuntu leaves something to be desired as far as performance on an atom n450 with a gig of ram). i got as far as connecting to the internet and launching an i3 session piddling around for a while. it's exhilarating to have a deeper level of understanding of how everything works together.

anyway, i'm trying to figure stuff out on my own for the most part, but i hope to use linuxbbq as a launching point for really diving into linux. y'all seem chill too, so that's a plus.

dkeg
Configurator

Re: another noob

Unread post by dkeg » Sun Sep 13, 2015 10:38 pm

Excellent tane, welcome! Make yourself at home

Work hard; Complain less

pidsley
Hermit

Unread post by pidsley » Sun Sep 13, 2015 10:54 pm

Welcome to the BBQ!

darry1966
CLIt Licker

Unread post by darry1966 » Sun Sep 13, 2015 11:40 pm

Welcome enjoy fiddling around and learning more the BBQ is fun.
LinuxBBQ is Sexy. Runs BBQ Stable.

gutterslob
Resident Tranny

Unread post by gutterslob » Mon Sep 14, 2015 2:20 am