Hi! I'm new to BBQ.

Forum rules
We believe in Hello and Thank You.
ing
Virgin

Hi! I'm new to BBQ.

Unread post by ing » Sun Oct 11, 2015 5:08 pm

Hi! I'm a grad student. I was a casual Linux user throughout my undergrad, which was in mathematics. I've had no formal CS training, and I've only gotten so far with coding on my own time over the years. I've been glancing at BBQ every now and then since the past spring, and I've finally gotten around to trying to make it work. This is due largely to wasting lots of time (video games, the "pretty" web, etc.) and wanting more motivation to tackle coding problems.

Anyway, I've lurked enough to know a bit about y'all, so here's a bit about me:

Previous experience/distros: Ubuntu 12-14. #! Waldorf.

Programming languages: Mostly Python. Varying levels of literacy in C/C++, CL/Scheme, and Javascript, but I haven't worked on anything significant with any of them.

Editor: Honestly? I just use nano for small scripts. I've worked with emacs and vim a bit. I think I like emacs a bit more, but time will tell. The bulk of my work is in Python, and IPython/Jupyter for visualization and writing math inline is the main thing that keeps me from going full CLI.

Terminal & Emulator: Historically, I used Guake and Terminator (so GNOME.) I don't have any educated opinions here; I just liked being able to slap a button and have a translucent window appear. Getting to know #!/Openbox made it clear that I could make that happen with whatever terminal I want without much fuss, so I'd like to explore other options.

Kernel: I don't know much about kernels and such (EDIT: similar for init system.) I'm hoping to pick up enough to make decent decisions as a user, but I don't think I can afford to spend the time to become a connoisseur. Feel free to try indoctrinating me with your totally-not-arbitrary preference. Maybe I'll internalize it.