Kicking the bloatware habit

Forum rules
We believe in Hello and Thank You.
archvortex
Uninstaller

Kicking the bloatware habit

Unread post by archvortex » Tue Feb 23, 2016 6:43 am

It's been a slow process but I have finally let go of some old habits. It took me a while to find a light WM that I was comfortable with besides i3 and I now use spectrwm. Bye bye Openbox! I've dumped using graphical file managers like pcmanfm, thunar and spacefm for console types mc and ranger. Dumping GUI for CLI, has not been a learning experience because I have been using computers since 1980 ( COBOL FORTRAN, Pascal and BASIC at university) but an unlearning experience to break old habits. It's not so much getting out of your comfort zone but changing your comfort zone. It's also not so much seeing the error of my previous ways but seeing things in a more simple, minimalistic way. There is nothing wrong with using Graphical User Interfaces if that is your preference and I will maintain one LXDE/Openbox partition on Gentoo to do stuff with my kids and wife. The rest of the time will be spent doing things in a minimalistic way using CLI instead of GUI (learning to use noX and emacs right now). Faster and simpler rather than slower and bloated.